International Institute for Engineering Education Assessment

Identifying Problems | Assessing Progress | Enhancing the World

Awards and Honors

Since 2005, members of our group have been recognized for their accolades. Below are a sample of honors and awards garnered over the years.


Monica F. Cox

Awards and Honors

Photo courtesy of the White House
Dr. Cox (second row, 8th person from the left) meeting President Barack Obama after receiving a PECASE January 2010 at the White House.

  • Purdue University College of Engineering Faculty Award of Excellent for Leadership (2014)
  • Purdue University Entrepreneurial Leadership Academy Fellow (2013)
  • Purdue Black Graduate Student Association (BGSA) Engagement Award Recipient (2013)
  • Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) Recipient (2008)
  • Diverse Issues in Higher Education Emerging Scholar (2008)
  • National Science Foundation Early Faculty CAREER Award Recipient (2007)
  • National Academies of Engineering/Center for the Advancement of Scholarship in Engineering Education New Faculty Fellow, Frontiers in Education Conference (2006)
  • Purdue University Teaching for Tomorrow Award Recipient (2006-2007)
  • Vanderbilt University Department of Leadership, Policy, and Organizations Graduate Student Representative (2002-03)*
  • VaNTH Engineering Research Center Student Leadership Council Chairperson (2001-2005)
  • Vanderbilt University Posse Foundation/Dean’s Graduate Fellow (2000-05)
  • University of Alabama Graduate Council Fellow (1999-2000)
  • University of Alabama National Alumni Association Fellow (1998-99)
  • NASA/Graduate Degrees for Minorities in Engineering and Science (GEM) Scholar (1998-2000)
  • Spelman College NASA/Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Scholar (1994-98)


Catherine Berdanier

  • Integrative Graduate Education Research Traineeship (IGERT) Fellow (2013-present)
  • NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program Fellow (2011; fellowship monies not accepted)
  • NASA Graduate Aeronautics Scholarship Program Fellow (2011-2013; 1 of 5 scholarships awarded nationwide)
  • Purdue Women in Engineering (WIEP) Graduate Mentoring Program Leadership Team Member (2012-present)
    Akeley-Norgren Chemistry Scholarship (2009-2010)
  • Presidential Alumni Scholarship—University of South Dakota (2006-2010)
  • South Dakota Opportunity Scholarship (2006-2010)
  • Rawlins Scholarship—University of South Dakota (2006-2010)

Tasha Zephirin

  • Integrative Graduate Education Research Traineeship (IGERT) Fellow (2012-present)
  • National Parliamentarian for National Society of Black Engineers (NSBE)